Sonusmac

Good, bad and unexpected of Military life.

How I cleared SSB interview and you can too! – the easy way.

how_toclear_ssb_sonusmacIts very hard to pin point the qualities or the reason because of which one clears the SSB. All credit goes to the wonderful process of SSB, which is designed by the DRDO scientists. If you have it in you then its very easy, but if you don’t have it in you – then you have to be smart enough to prove otherwise.. 😛

I have tried my best to bring out most of the things which must be kept in mind by a candidate.

SSB is based on principle of selecting suitable person for the job not the best person for the job. If a person is not selected in SSB that does not mean – She/He is a failure in life. It just means that – the person is not fit to become an officer.

We have so many great personalities around us who appeared in SSB but didn’t clear it and now there at the top of there field. For e.g. – Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam, Amitabh Harivansh Bachchan, Shahrukh Khan & some more.

All of us make the first mistake by thinking SSB as another competition in our life but I must tell you, Its not a competition between you and others(your batch-mates). We can take it as a challenge by the standards set by DRDO to you to prove that you are up to that mark.

Not everyone is born with Officers Like Qualities(OLQs), over a period of time we automatically inculcate these qualities right from the childhood or right from our school going days, depends on the kind of environment. There are 14 to 17 approx OLQs which are derived from each other. In SSB, the assessors are looking not for a person who is consistent in his performance when she/he is put under various different situations.

Generally people ask, “How to prepare for SSB?”, You tell me – Is SSB an examination for which you need to study predefined books and prepare? I say ‘NO’. In SSB you are not judge on basis of what you did in college or school nor your marks in maths or science. It does not matter whether you were a topper or an average student during your school days. It does not matter at all.

What matters is, what you are? At present, during those five days when you are being tested. What totally counts is your conduct during those days . But a person will surely conduct himself in his true manners when he is put through various stages which has factors like time limit and performance pressure.

That was all talking I thought that would help you to understand the basic funda.

Now lets go to some of the what To Do’s and Don’ts for various stages of SSB:-

Firstly, as I told you its not a competition. So when you go to ssb you meet new people, so its better you make friends and not rivals. Because what I felt, if you have better understanding and cooperation between your group then there are higher chances of more number of candidates getting recommended.

Stage 1 –

1. PPDT – 

PPDT!

PPDT!

a) Story writing –

i) Observe the picture carefully (which many of us ignore because we are all in hurry to start making story.)

ii) Make a blue print in your mind as to what you see in the picture and what will be your story.

iii) The story making secrete: Cause/problem(main issue) + Solution(action oriented) + hero(that’s you).

iv) Keep your story short, sweet and simple.

v) Don’t waste time in writing a story for The times of India. From my side write in most layman’s language.

b) Discussion –

i) For god sake! Its a discussion, so discuss and don’t try to put each other down.

ii) Aim is to come to a common story. Its better to cooperate or because its of no use cursing each other after getting S/O.

iii) Don’t become a spectator there(I have seen people speaking nothing at all in discussion). Speak up, give chance to judge you.

iv) And for those Heavy Machine Guns(that’s what I call them) who open fire like anything even before asked to. Hold your horses. You are doing more harm than any good to your self. Let others speak.

v) Be creative, think out of box and try to make a common story by merging maximum two to three stories.

vi) Don’t narrate a different story from what you have written. You can add few points, in case you could not write due to lack of time.

vii) Be confident! Here you can show your communication skill and convincing ability also, if required.

viii) One should know when to speak, when to give chance to others and more important of all : when to keep one’s mouth shut.

ix) The more one speaks; the more one tends to exhibit “bond like” traits in his personality.

2. Psychology Test :-

a) Word Association Test(WAT) –

i) Write short and simple sentences.
ii) Don’t give second thought, once the word is flashed. If you try to think and write, you will miss a word or two.
iii) Just be positive.
iv) be careful about handwriting, that does matter.

b) Thematic Appreciation Test(TAT) –

i) Follow the points given for PPDT.
ii) Just remember that write your story in brief.
iii) Don’t make it complicated.|
iv) Blank picture: In this write a story which relates to you in real.

c) Situation Reaction Test(SRT) –

(CONTINUE TO READ MORE – PAGE 2 – CLICK HERE)

What do you think??

320 comments on “How I cleared SSB interview and you can too! – the easy way.

  1. mayank
    June 4, 2017

    sir, i have sweating problem on my back but i dont get sweating on m hands. so is it problamatic….

    • Sonu
      June 4, 2017

      Not a problem at all.

      Everyone sweats from different places but excessive sweating from hand is a problem not from back!

  2. Defence Aspirant
    May 30, 2017

    Brother, I’m 83 kg with 180 cm (Age: 21). can i reduce it in 42 days time?? If not, may i have further time to reduce weight???

    • Sonu
      May 30, 2017

      Yes you can. Determination is all you need! No extra time.

  3. naveen
    May 23, 2017

    Is knock knees a rejection in ssb

    • Sonu
      May 24, 2017

      Yes, but if it is very minor then you can get through.

  4. shankar
    May 22, 2017

    wht abt flat foot

    • Sonu
      May 23, 2017

      Flat foot, it depends on how severe is the condition.

  5. Deepak
    May 20, 2017

    Sir can i know what is cut off for ssc (edu) pc (log) indian navy 01/2018

  6. amarjeet rath
    May 18, 2017

    Hello Sonu:) I have been following you from my very 1st attempt,I found your blogs are workable.But I am lacking in my communication skills and I am working on too.But I have some problems regarding TAT as you know it holds great weightage in psych test.so kindly give some tips as how to write stories and what to write? Thank u

  7. ravi
    May 9, 2017

    Sir i have sweating problem in my hands and legs..
    Should i rejected in medical standard of ssb..

    • Sonu
      May 10, 2017

      Yes, it could be a problem depending on how bad is the condition.

  8. aman
    May 5, 2017

    in medical ssb if your left hand ring finger twisted then it cause of regection

  9. Ricky
    May 4, 2017

    hello Sonu, it was my childhood dream to become an army officer and tried everything to make it come true, but i guess it was not in my destiny. I greatly appreciate the work you are doing by giving the ssb interview tips to the needful ones. Replying to almost every comment shows your true intentions of helping others. Keep up the good work!

    • Sonu
      May 4, 2017

      Thanks Ricky,

      I can understand what you feel after giving your everything for that one dream. Well nevertheless life is beautiful and full of surprises.
      Its gives me happiness to see someone turn his/her dream into reality and If I could be a small part of that then I believe my blog serves the purpose.

      Goodnight, thanks for kind words 🙂

  10. shubham biswas
    April 11, 2017

    hellow ,,,sir here shubham biswas .and my passion is to jion #indian air force# since childhood its a passion for me ,,,specially in flying and technical feild now i am a final year student of b.tech , sir i know the procedure about the writen test as well as SSB ;; And i am very well in G.D nd even if can played a role model as a captain in my team and i am very good in sports activities its well enough for me or should i prepair some other things which helps me to gain other activities…!!!! sirji plzz text me back;///

    • Sonu
      April 12, 2017

      What else do you want to gain? You seem to be a adequately active person.

  11. naveen
    April 9, 2017

    Hi sir,

    I had squint in my and had operation for it , but it is still there a little bit . Am I eligible. I have applied for ground duty as I am a commerce student. Where can I do my complete checkup so that I can rectify any shortcoming and also how do start preparing for SSB. Should I join a coaching. I have SSB in the month of july

    Thanks

    • Sonu
      April 9, 2017

      Squint(eyes)?? In your what??

      • naveen
        April 9, 2017

        yes

      • naveen
        April 9, 2017

        yes, Squint in my.

  12. TJ
    April 6, 2017

    sir i have a filling in my tooth…will it be a cause of rejection in ssb medical?

    • Sonu
      April 9, 2017

      No, it not a issue.

  13. jayabrata nandi
    April 4, 2017

    sir my height is 180 cm and my wt is 75 kg.is that a problem during SSB interview or i will get a chance of 30 days after interview(if i get selected) to get rid of it

    • jayabrata nandi
      April 4, 2017

      sorry i didnt mention my age its 24.please reply soon if possible because.my ssb interview will be held on 28th april

    • Sonu
      April 9, 2017

      You will get a chance to reduce weight don’t worry.

  14. mahadev singh
    March 26, 2017

    I had pleural effusion 3 years back and i had minor fracture in my right hand index finger many years ago, will it hinder in medical after clearing SSB?

  15. mayayeah
    March 24, 2017

    Hello sir. Going for SSB next month. Got a mail today. I am a bit underweight according to their standards approx 2Kg ..will it matter much?

    • Sonu
      March 25, 2017

      No you will be given 30days to gain weight. Play!

      • mayayeah
        March 25, 2017

        Thank you for the response 🙂

  16. shivangi jha
    March 23, 2017

    hello sir,
    nice and useful blog for ssb aspirants . sir i am from hindi medium and selected for cds ssb this year . i know english is must . so please give me some tips to improve my english and speaking skills .
    thank you

    • Sonu
      March 24, 2017

      Hello Shivangi,

      1. Read English newspaper – The Hindu is recommended
      2. Watch English Movies with subtitles
      3. Interact with friends in English
      4. Buy an english tense book and learn to make grammatically correct sentences
      5. Download Duo-Lingo app and learn English from there from Hindi to English option.
      6. Finally if all this doesn’t help, go to English speaking classes.

      All the best,
      And good day!

  17. VIJAY
    March 16, 2017

    SIR I AM HAVING A EYE SIGHT OF -0.5 &1.5 LEFT AND RIGHT …WILL THAT BE A PROBLEM

    • Sonu
      March 18, 2017

      No issue. Go ahead.

  18. Abhinav
    March 2, 2017

    Hey Sonu i appreciate your blog and tips for ssb preparation. I am going to appear for ssb so i need some help regarding improvement on my confidence because whenever i come across any group i am not confident at all so i face problems. so do you have any idea how my personality can be improved and please share some gd topics and what type of command or group task are asked there.

    • Sonu
      March 2, 2017

      Interact with strangers, on any general topic.
      Group discussion among friends.
      Take deep breathes and smile to reduce nervousness.
      Command task covered in different post.

  19. Ashwajeet
    March 2, 2017

    Hi, i cleared cdse2 written examination (for ina and ota)…… while filling the preferences i had given ina preference over ota, but I want to go to ota…. So, what is the procedure to do the same….

    • Aftab
      March 2, 2017

      There is no procedure to change your choice now, my friend it late. You can only wish for less vacancy in INA and then being sent to OTA instead.

  20. Sravan Kumar
    March 1, 2017

    Hello Sir,
    I have cleared CDS-2 written exam for IMA,NA,OTA.Since,my preference was for NA,I got a call for SSB from Naval Academy.I had my thumb joint fractured 2 months back,it got recovered now,but still X-Ray can make it out.Will this lead to any rejection in further rounds?.
    Thanks for your valuable time

    • Aftab
      March 2, 2017

      No, it will not.

  21. Anurag
    February 12, 2017

    Sir,I’ve appeared in CDSE 2017 1 . After going through Answer keys of various institutes I am expecting a score somewhere between 120-130 securing minimum 25% in each subject.Sir, My preference order is 1.AFA 2.IMA 3.OTA . Now I’m very sure that I wont be able to clear the written exam for AFA as generally cutoff is around 135~145 . So I want to know the prospects of clearing the written exam for IMA and OTA. Sir; Should I expect an SSB interview call for IMA or OTA as my marks are well above the cutoff for IMA and OTA?

  22. Vivek
    February 8, 2017

    I did not speak in gd as nobody was allowing to. Can I get screened in ???

    • Aftab
      March 2, 2017

      Less chances, as you gave less option to assessors to select you.

  23. Vivek
    February 8, 2017

    I was unable to speak in the PPDT gd. What are the chances of getting screened in ???

  24. desapriya mohanty
    January 29, 2017

    Jay hind sir , kya ssb interview mai Hindi nhi bol sakte sirf English mai hi jawab dena padegi .agar grammatically error hogi toh kya disqualified ? Pls sir ans. Me.

    • Sonu
      January 30, 2017

      Desapriya Haan English ka upyog atuadhik awasyak hai SSB mein chunav ke liye.

  25. G.Premalatha
    January 8, 2017

    hello sir i am premalathagajendran from tamilnadu.i am preparing in AFCAT exam hardly.sevarel test containing after the exam.i wory about the mental ability test sir..i cry even watching movie sir..this is my problem sir..can i clear the mental ability test sir?plz reply my question sir..i am waiting ur cmt egarly sir plz…

    • Sonu
      January 11, 2017

      All of us r emotional human being it is very normal for us to cry, so don’t correlate that with your mental abilities skill. just prepare for it and all the best.

      • G.Premalatha
        January 15, 2017

        ok thank u sir..

  26. Abhishek Maurya
    January 7, 2017

    Sir I have applied online for 10+2 navy b.tech course 2017,online and I have also sent my documents through offline post.My Ques is :how to confirm that mh offline documents have been sent or not.??? And when I will get ssb call later.??? Will I get or not???
    My PCM percentage is 82%…plz give answer..?

    • Sonu
      January 11, 2017

      You can find the contact number on nausea Bharti website.

  27. AKASH PANDEY
    December 31, 2016

    sir,i am selected for SSB dates is 28 jan nd sir my english language is very weak i prepared 12th in hindi midium. to sir kya mai hindi bolne me use kr skta hu.or agr mujhe kuch likhna ho to jha pr eng nhi aaye wha hindi likh skta hu. pls reply sir

    • Shivam Sharma
      January 1, 2017

      Friend I m feeling very sad to say that although Hindi is our national language but if you don’t have good speaking as well as writing skills then better pack your bag at very first day of SSB. So plzz work on it so that you can make some way out.

      • AKASH PANDEY
        January 1, 2017

        sir, 1st day screening test in verbal&nonverbal question in 100(50+50) so sir pls tell me aproximetly how many question passing need.

        • Abhishek Maurya
          January 7, 2017

          Approx 25 in each set

          • AKASH PANDEY
            January 7, 2017

            sir mere pas coat ni hai to us se koi dikt to ni hai n sirf shirt or dark trouser se ho jayega n

            • Sonu
              January 11, 2017

              Buy a formal sweater, if that’s not a money problem.

    • Sonu
      January 11, 2017

      English is must friend.

  28. saish naik
    December 13, 2016

    SIR, i am not able to do 9 feet ditch but can do 8 feet.what to do now

    • Sonu
      December 27, 2016

      You don’t have to jump 9ft ditch in SSB my friend.

    • Abhishek Maurya
      January 7, 2017

      No…
      If u do 8 feet then u will be in ditch☺😊

  29. Abhishek verma
    November 23, 2016

    I want to join Indian army as a lieutenant

    • Sonu
      November 24, 2016

      You are most welcome friend, Army needs you.

  30. Vineet kaushik
    October 26, 2016

    Hello sir thanku so much for your gudienece.
    Please be patient and try to understand what i am saying.
    My name is vineet kaushik.I am 21.I spent my my life in Enjoying it to max level.I never did hard work in my life.I did Btech in IT but i dont like it so i didnt even appeared in placements.Till now my full focus was on Girls,Travelling,Trying crazy stuffs and Baba G ki butti ;-). And i did all of it really well.Now i quit smoking completely.I have great passion for flying.I have already did skydiving,Bungee jumping,cliff diving and many more.
    So thats who i am.I got a sales and marketing job also but i personally feel that this is not my thing.I dont feel that Rush and Risk factor.
    So i want to join Indian Air Force.To be precise i want to fly Tejas above the clouds I know the whole path and i think i can do it.All i need is your gudience.I would like to be your friend.
    Please inbox me.

  31. samay
    October 20, 2016

    i will b appearing for airforce ssb but i have acne grade 2 on my shoulder ,will that be a problem

  32. priyankasharma16m
    October 6, 2016

    Hello sir, I have applied for ssb jag, what would be the date for exams.

    • Sonu
      October 7, 2016

      You’ll get the date within a month.

  33. Saayan Mukherjee
    September 25, 2016

    Sir my call letter for Navy has came, but I don’t know swimming. Will this be an issue for rejection from the SSB-interview?

    • Sonu
      September 29, 2016

      No issue, you will be taught swimming.

  34. Amit singh
    September 20, 2016

    Sir, what questions can i expect from my hobbies singing & cycling?
    Write some questions Please..

  35. Srishti Bali
    September 14, 2016

    Sir I am an army aspirant.. Want to be JAG in Indian army but at the same time am suffering from deviated nasal septum (DNS), will this be a cause of my permanent rejection ?

    • Sonu
      September 15, 2016

      Nope it won’t be a rejection cause, you will be treated(minor operation) for this and then you are fit to go. 🙂 All the best!

      • Srishti Bali
        September 21, 2016

        Thanks you so much 😄

      • amankumar0728
        November 20, 2016

        Hii sir. plzz tell me that what if I have eyp number 3.75 and want to join army. Plzz reply will it pose any problems.
        What are standards for eye in medical

        • Sonu
          November 24, 2016

          3.75 is actually problem because maximum accepted level is +/-3.5

      • Manish charan
        January 3, 2017

        Honourable Sonu sir ,
        This is Manish from Rajasthan. Sir as I am an aspirant of armforces so I was visiting this site.no sooner did I look your opinions and perspectives about cracking ssb, I felt more confidence in me. Thank-you so much for ur kind suggestions.

        • Abhishek Maurya
          January 7, 2017

          Hey frnd..give me suggestions for ssb too..

        • Sonu
          January 11, 2017

          I am glad Manish, thanks for kind words! 🙂

Speak your mind!

Information

This entry was posted on May 25, 2014 by in Army and tagged , , , , , .
Follow Sonusmac on WordPress.com

Let’s Connect!

