Sonusmac

Good, bad and unexpected of Military life.

What all medical tests you have to go through after clearing SSB?

MEDICAL  EXAMINATION

physical examination

Candidate, those who clear ssb are asked to stay back at ssb centre for 5 more days for their medical examination.  Medical is conducted in this order over next 4/5 days –

Day 1 – Blood test, Urine test, Chest x-ray, Ultrasound..
Day 2 – Ear, Nose & Tongue(ENT), Eye
Day 3 – Surgical Examination
Day 4 – Eye & Dental
Day 5 – General Medical(Height, weight, blood pressure, heart beat) & Medical Conference

Height and Weight Scale for Men

 Height (in Cm)

          Weight (in KG)

For Age 15-17 18-22 23-27 28-32
152 – 158 46 – 49 47 – 50 50 – 54 54 – 58
159 – 165 50 – 53 51 – 55 55 – 59 59 – 63
166 – 171 54 – 56 56 – 59 60 – 64  63 – 66
172 – 178 57 – 60 59 – 63 64 – 69 67 – 71
179 – 183  61 – 63 64 – 66  69 – 72 72 – 74
184 – 185 64 67 – 68 73 – 74 75

Note: Minimum acceptable height for male candidates is 162.5 cms for air force . And the weight should be proportionate to the height as per their standards .

Height and Weight Scale for Women

Height (in Cm) Weight (in KG)
For Age 20-25 26-30
148 – 151 43 – 45 46 – 48
152 – 155 46 – 48 49 – 51
156 – 160 49 – 51 52 – 55
161 – 165 52 – 54 55 – 58
166 – 171 55 – 58 59 – 62
172 – 176 59 – 61 63 – 66
177 – 178 62 – 63

Note : A 10% variation on either side of average is acceptable

Medical Standards

  • The candidate should be free from wax (EARS), DNS, Hyrocele/Phimosis. Defective Colour Vision, LASIK Surgery, Over/Under Weight, Under Chest, Piles, Gynecomastia, Tonsillitis, Veri-Cocele And Aids.
  • You should be able to read 6/6 in a Distant Vision Chart
  • Colour Vision Standard should be CP-III
  • Minimum 14 Dental Points With Sound Teeth

Vision Standards

  • Uncorrected without glass: 6/6, 6/9
  • Corrected with glass: 6/6 (only for Hypermetropia)
  • Nil limits for myopia
  • Limits for Hypermetropia: +2.00 D
If you do not clear medical Board then, what happens?

Once medical conference is done, if you are fit then – you can go home and enjoy. If not then apply for Appeal medical Board after the given time to overcome the medical problems like overweight/underweight. After given period you will once again undergo medical examination for same reason at your selected Military hospital.

Procedure of Appeal Medical Board

The Appeal Medical Board takes place at one of the below mentioned hospitals: –

  1. Base Hospital, Delhi Cantt.
  2. Command Hospital, Southern Command, Pune.
  3. Command Hospital, Eastern Command, Kolkata.
  4. Command Hospital, Central Command, Lucknow.
  5. Command Hospital, Western Command, Chandimandir.
  6. Command Hospital, Air Force, Bangalore.
  7. Command Hospital, Northern Command, C/o 56 APO.
  8. INHS, Ashvini, Mumbai.

The candidates will report for medical examination within the stipulated period i.e., 42 days from the date last examined by the Special Medical Board for re-examination along with the receipted copy of the MRO/TR as directed by the President Medical Board.  The endeavor will be to complete the Medical Board in one day.

Review Medical Board

In case of candidate being declared unfit by the Appeal Medical Board, he/she may challenge the proceedings and may be granted review of medical proceedings based on the merit of the case.  Any candidate desiring for a review should address the request to Recruiting Directorate (Personnel & Coord), Army Headquarters, West Block III, RK Puram, New Delhi with a copy to the President of Appeal Medical Board within one day of the holding of Appeal Medical Board. The application for RMB are routed through DG AFMS. The decision for grant of RMB is with DG AFMS, and is not a matter of right. RMBs are conducted at R&R Hospital  Delhi Cantt and AFMC, Pune.

These are the various medical standards required to clear Medical Appeal Board in SSB. If this does not answer your query or you have any doubt related to SSB Medicals you can leave a comment below.

Stay healthy! Have fun 😉

What do you think??

339 comments on “What all medical tests you have to go through after clearing SSB?

  1. Jay P. Desai
    April 27, 2017

    Sir, dies a mallet finger (ring finger)(minor) cause problems during the medical examinations ?

  2. sunit
    April 25, 2017

    Sir, actually i have faced an operation of gallbladder stone 4-years back,
    Can I be selected in the nda medical test?

    • Sonu
      April 26, 2017

      Sorry I can’t comment about that 😦

  3. Brian
    April 1, 2017

    Hi sir i have already done minor surgery(laparoscopic) for gall stone three years back. am i still eligible Indian army OTA.

    • pankaj arya
      April 3, 2017

      I have no gall bladder as it was removed in 2010.will I be allowed in indian army…

  4. vinod
    April 1, 2017

    sir
    In which case there is possibility to declare fit NDA condidate by review medical board. How many doctors are there in RMB

  5. Ekanath patil
    March 26, 2017

    Give me the information or if you have video of checking of knocked knee in Indian arm forces
    Please sir …

    • Sonu
      March 27, 2017

      What information you need?

  6. Ritu
    March 23, 2017

    Sir, i have undergone laproscopic cholecystectomy 3 years back. Will i be medically fir for AFMC?

    • vinod
      March 23, 2017

      Thank you
      Is the hammer toe is curable

      • Sonu
        March 24, 2017

        It is very less likely to cure as its a bone deformity happened over long period.

  7. vinod
    March 20, 2017

    Sir i have flexible hammertoe of 3rd toe of both foot . Is it rejection from ssb medical board.

    • Chetanya Rani
      March 21, 2017

      Not sure about rejection but its a bone deformity therefore might create problems in medical.

  8. Vishal
    March 13, 2017

    I am having uveitis and glaucoma disorder in my eyes and I am under treatment for the both. Is it possible for me??? Now my vision is at range but it may vary or may not after few years. Is it possible for me??

  9. Varun Ramgopal V
    March 11, 2017

    Hello sir,
    I have seating palms will it be a problem in SSB medicals…if yes will be a TR or PR…if it is TR how to rectify that??
    Pls help with this.
    Many thanks
    Varun

  10. Mohit
    March 7, 2017

    I have ..a .white patch on my penis head from past 3 year..and i dont have any other issue with that….other than the discolour of that particular region……i consult my doctor he said……..its not a problem ….everything is ok…….bt m not sure about ssb…..wheather they clear it or not ….

    • Sonu
      March 9, 2017

      Just a patch with no problem isn’t an issue

  11. ayush pathak
    March 2, 2017

    would i get selection in ssb..whether i am having piles.

  12. Manu
    February 28, 2017

    Hello Sir,

    Is sweating Palms a problem in all the 3 forces (Navy specially) ??

    And do we get a TR for it ?

    • Sonu
      February 28, 2017

      In Army and Air force it is. I am not sire about Navy.

      • Manu
        February 28, 2017

        Do we get a TR for it?
        or is it a permanent rejection ?

  13. ARAVIND
    February 8, 2017

    Sir can I get rejected if I have peyronie

  14. yatharth agarwal
    February 3, 2017

    i got TR DUE to PECTUS EXCAVATUM means funnel chest
    but it is mild
    and my heart, lungs nothing suffer from it
    i am totally fine
    will i be selected

    • Sonu
      February 8, 2017

      Go for appear for RMB, is the doctors who will decide whether its mild or not..

  15. tc sandeep
    February 2, 2017

    I GOT SELECTED IN THE SSB ROUND OF NAVY…BUT GOT TEMP REJECTION AT MEDICAL EXAMINATION DUE TO AN EAR SURGERY I UNDERWENT…WANTED TO KNOW WHERE TO SEND THE MEDICAL FORM THEY HAVE GIVEN ME…CAN YOU GIVE ME SOME DETAILS ON THIS …PLS.

  16. gaurav Kumar
    January 21, 2017

    what after if i get pass In every criteria of nda
    …….
    plssss…. help me out ….. 9473182722 is my mobile no. …..

  17. Onkar Bobade
    January 18, 2017

    If i have root canal treatment…is it will effect in ssb medical test

  18. Harsha
    January 16, 2017

    Sir i have myopic eyes with – 1.5 and – 1.75 eyesight. And I have been selevted for us pilot. So will I be medically rejected. And will be allowed to appear for ssb again if I go for lasik

    • Sonu
      January 29, 2017

      After Lasik pilot is difficult..

  19. adarsh hareendran
    January 9, 2017

    bhaya I want to ask about knees that is my knees are touching as well as my ankles are when I stand in 45 degree.also i think my flesh of knees are touching.
    will they accept it or reject it.if at all rejected will it be temporary or permenant in my case.are there any natural ways to corrcet it.
    IAM 17 YEARS.

          PLEASE GIVE ME A REPLY AS I HAVE TO PREPARE.
    
    • Sonu
      January 11, 2017

      Adarsh, you just prepare for SSB go and appear in it do not worry about medical. As you are saying you might have knock knees but I cannot tell you just like that just because they are touching, sometime they accept if the percentage is very less.

      • adarshhareendran
        January 12, 2017

        thanks bai

  20. nilesh kumar
    January 7, 2017

    sir i have intestinal structures appearing in my testis. will i be rejected. if i m rejected can operation cure it and i go for ssb again. this problem is with one testis only. plz tell me at the earliest

    • nilesh kumar
      January 10, 2017

      sir give reply as early as possible
      my ssb is near

    • Sonu
      January 11, 2017

      Sorry friend. I can’t comment about this. I have no clue.

  21. Ankit singh
    December 31, 2016

    I am suffering gynecomastia and my one finger next to the little finger of both toes is slightly deviated but that does not have any symptoms or any sorts of impairment due to these……..
    If there is any problem regarding this then please recommend me whether I can rectify these …..
    I want to become a pilot. But these are just making me tenseddddd……
    Please help me……
    Waiting 4your reply…

    • Sonu
      January 11, 2017

      Gynecomastia will be one reason to give you temporary rejection in medicals. Work hard, sweat and shred your fat.

  22. Abhishek
    December 21, 2016

    i have tonsils so will it be a problem in medical test after afsb interview

  23. kumar
    December 18, 2016

    Sir I got initial stage of external hemorrhoids while doing my exercises because of the excess pressure in my abdomen and I have moderate wheezing right from my childhood . Will both this problem cause me a rejection ?

    • Kumar
      January 16, 2017

      Sir please reply to the above mentioned sir

  24. Anuradha Yadav
    November 15, 2016

    Sir my age is 21years old female and my height is 150 cms. .will I get rejected in medicals ??or is there any relaxation in height for women candidates(am not from north eastern region )?

    • Sonu
      November 24, 2016

      No relaxation for person other than belonging to NER.

  25. Jagan
    November 9, 2016

    Sir my height is 165 and weight is 69. Will i be rejected?

    • Sonu
      November 10, 2016

      No, if you are asking due to weight then for weight issues you will be given Temporary rejection and you will re_apperar for medical.

    • Aslam Khan
      November 21, 2016

      No you want be, If you want 100% guaranteed job and clearance of all the tests for Merchant navy. Ask here itself.

  26. rj
    October 16, 2016

    Im having fungal infection in scrotum… Will i b able to pass the medicals?

    • Sonu
      October 17, 2016

      No. If it doesn’t gets cured then nope.

  27. Velu
    October 11, 2016

    Sir, I have hearing problem in one ear but checked doctors no disease or any fractures in ear …can I be able to join defence services in officer entry technical??I don’t feel difficulty in hearing…but in testing I am not able to respond for frequencies in right ear…pls suggest

  28. balaji
    October 10, 2016

    Sonu sir..I have totally 28 teeth but the teeth are not aligned properly in the front.The front teeth also has little yellow stains..But my teeth are strong enough..Will i be eligible?

  29. balaji
    October 10, 2016

    Sonu sir..I have totally 28 teeth but the teeth are not aligned properly in the front.The front teeth also has little yellow stains..But my teeth are strong enough..Will i be eligible?

  30. dapin
    October 4, 2016

    sir i have moderate dns does I go for surgery or it is ok

    • Sonu
      October 4, 2016

      Don’t go for it now. Once you are recommended then you will be asked to do it. That’s the time to go for it.

  31. Mayank sewlia
    October 4, 2016

    How do they check for herniated disc? I have at level of L5/L5 and L5/S1. Are they very strict about it?

  32. Shiva kumar
    September 29, 2016

    I have nearly 1.5 cm wide skin deformation on my hand due to accident..and i had done root canal treatment in one front teeth..am I eligible for ssb.

    • Sonu
      September 30, 2016

      Yes eligible.

  33. Gaurav
    September 23, 2016

    After how many days of appeal medical board, do we get the date for review medical board. Can I get the a date after 1 month of A.P.M

    • Sonu
      September 29, 2016

      Yes it’s generally after 21 to 30 days.

  34. Gaurav
    September 23, 2016

    Sir, I was rejected from s.m.b due to gallbladder polyp. What can I do in this case. Can I go do operation.

  35. Harsh singh
    September 21, 2016

    sir is flat foot can acceptable for AFMC plz sir reply

  36. Sushil
    September 18, 2016

    Sir i declared medically unfit in initial aswell as appeal medical due to sub standard hearing for air force ground duty. I had 55db response at 3 khz freq in left ear. Rest all freq response normal. Now i got reveiw date, Can someone go after the date allotted for review medical board….. Are there chances in review to become fit??

    • Sonu
      September 21, 2016

      No you can’t go after the date. Only if conditions improve then chances are there or else no.

  37. shiva
    September 17, 2016

    hi sir i am having problem with gynecomastia that is present on my right chest can that effect my medicals and also iam bieng overweight…….waiting 4 ur reply

    thanking you

    • Sonu
      September 21, 2016

      Yes it will effect, kindly follow gm diet and reduce your weight also.

  38. Pratik hedau
    September 16, 2016

    My age is 18 and my weight 59 it will effect my selection or not

  39. ritik
    September 10, 2016

    my height is 162 cm and my weight is 56 can i go for nda examination

  40. Hitesh kumar
    September 9, 2016

    Sir I have a visible veins on my right leg below knees.. Will this create any problem..??

    • Sonu
      September 10, 2016

      Visible vein, just check that it’s not some medical problem like Vein thrombosis or something else. Otherwise it’s okay

  41. Adarsh Hareendran
    September 8, 2016

    hello sir as i said above abt knock knees will they accept or reject me and how can i cure it

    • Sonu
      September 10, 2016

      If you have knock knees, there are less chances that you will be selected. But you can always try your luck.

  42. Venket
    September 3, 2016

    Sir I did a root canal treatment on my teeth wil they accept me?

    • Sonu
      September 6, 2016

      Yes they will accept.

  43. Adarsh hareendran
    September 2, 2016

    Hello sir my knees r touching each other I heard that an individual will b rejected if his knees touch each other because while doing parade it causes problem,so how can I correct it sir pls give me a solution at the earliest

    • Sonu
      September 6, 2016

      There are physical exercises but you can’t cure this. You can only minimise the effect.

  44. Dev
    September 1, 2016

    Hey, I have 4 permanent tattoos.
    How would this go?
    One is on the neck, 2 on exterior forearms, 1 on the leg.

    Do tattoos matter?

    • Sonu
      September 1, 2016

      Yes, that’s gonna be a problem Dev. Any tattoo That is visible in PT dress (a sports T-shirt and a short), could be a cause of rejection if not removed. (Specially the one on Neck and Forearms)

  45. Adithya kumar
    August 29, 2016

    I get sweating in my palm which is more then the normal person as I have compared with my friends palm…is there amy problems in medical test…and I have acne also on my face and back…plz reply if there is any problem with all these things. ..it will be very grateful…

    • Sonu
      August 29, 2016

      Sweating palm is a problem.. acne is not.

      • Adithya kumar
        August 30, 2016

        Can u tell me any measure by which I can control my sweating palm…

        • Sonu
          September 1, 2016

          Do rough exercises, like push up on road, rope clombing, crab walking.. could be of little help.

  46. pankaj
    August 27, 2016

    sir mera ek teeth thora bahar nikala hua isse koi probleum hai

  47. Gokul Bhusal
    August 25, 2016

    I met with an accident when i was 13 yrs old & which caused indecency in testicles, one of them gets shorter but rest everything is working fine. No problem in functioning of testicles nor any diseases. Will it be a rejection ?

    • Sonu
      August 25, 2016

      Difficult to tell you.

  48. MOHIT MALIK
    August 23, 2016

    Hlo sir
    Whether a person using lens of -2D (myopia) .. is medically fit or not, in case of eyes?

  49. paras
    August 19, 2016

    Good Morning Sir,
    I am having weak eyesight, its -4.5D and -4D.
    My backbone is also slightly bent. So is there any problem about the shape of backbone ?

    • Sonu
      August 21, 2016

      Morning,
      1. Weak eyesight not accepted.
      2. If shape of backbone not surgically correct then that’s a problem.

  50. pradhyumn singh
    August 13, 2016

    Can we cure varecocelle ? And how toncilittis affect one’s physic

  51. Komal
    August 13, 2016

    please let me know about ENT check up…bcz i m suffin from hole in my ear drums…which is recovered …..but white lik skin is seen of recovery…..m juz tenssed if bcoz of that skin i wud loose my chance of gettin recommended ….huuuh…m so tenssed……doctors r sayin that we can fix u a new ear drum but i m not confident nd sure bout doctors…as i feel it will lead to agaim new problems…….my doctor only wants to mak money…..please tellme the criteria for ear check ups…..plzzzzzz….

    • Sonu
      August 13, 2016

      In ENT, your hearing is checked, if you can hear perfectly then that’s good. End of story.

  52. Komal
    August 13, 2016

    I was doin under water swimming and suddenly got a punch hit by my sister over my left ear…..i didn’t know i will suffer too much i kept doin swimming nd one fine day i stary gettin puss coming out from both my ears.

    .i went to hospital nd they said that i hav a nib lik hole in my ear drums…now the hole is recovered but it hav a recovery mask…example a white coloured skin is seen when i go for check but i m recovered…is that wud a rejection medical ?? bcoz my doctor wants to mak money sayin we will fix u a new ear drum .

    ..nd my mother is sayin big NO NO as she hav a doubt that i cud loss hearing entirely…nd i too wants to know this things….plz try to get my issue nd ans thinkin bout me

    • Sonu
      August 13, 2016

      Don’t get it fixed, go with your mother’s decision. If you are recovered from it and have no hearing loss then, that should be fine in SSB medical.

  53. Amit
    August 6, 2016

    Sir. I have newly formed red stretch marks on my inner thigh and knee area.Does it will lead rejection at ssb medicals.If yes Permanent or Temporary?

    • Sonu
      August 8, 2016

      It’s not considered at all. Strecth marks, ignore them.

  54. Akhil Thakur
    July 27, 2016

    Sir my big toe of both feet is slightly deviated from nail joint. Will it cause rejection for medical?

  55. Anup
    July 24, 2016

    Sir i have small problem in shape (gap) of the chest is this a rejection in ssb?

    • Sonu
      July 24, 2016

      Only if it is a major deformity, then its a problem or else it’s okay.

  56. SAI
    July 15, 2016

    Hello Sir,

    I have Parapsoriasis, that is non contagious skin disease. It makes some spots on my hands and legs. will I be rejected for navy in medical examination which is conducted after clearing SSB.??

    • Sonu
      July 15, 2016

      Sai, I don’t have info regarding this.

      • SAI
        July 16, 2016

        Please provide the info sonu

        • Sonu
          July 17, 2016

          I don’t have info regarding your query, sorry.

  57. SAI
    July 15, 2016

    Hi

  58. rahul sharma
    July 12, 2016

    Sir , i am underweight.. is this the reason of rejection in ssb interview for the technical branch?

    • Sonu
      July 13, 2016

      You will get temporary rejection(TR) and will be given 30-45days to gain weight. It will be after u clear ur SSB.

      • Dipak kumar majumder
        August 6, 2016

        My hight is 161cm…and weight is 58.. kya mai medical exam ke liye fit nehi hu sonu sir??

        • Sonu
          August 6, 2016

          Weight thoda jyada hai.. but that won’t be a problem. Go ahead.

      • Saurabh
        March 28, 2017

        Sir I have a problem of white skin on my left leg near joint it is about 3 CM in dia almost circular in shape did it leads to rejection.

        Sir please reply soon

Speak your mind!

Information

This entry was posted on December 9, 2014 by in Army, SSB and tagged , , , , , , .
Follow Sonusmac on WordPress.com

Let’s Connect!

