Sonusmac

Good, bad and unexpected of Military life.

How I cleared SSB interview and you can too! – the easy way – Part 2

(continued from – Part I..)

c) Situation Reaction Test(SRT)

1) Be sensible, write practical situation.
2) Show action happening, explain.
3) Do not act like a superhero.
4) Do not skip a situation in between, it projects that you are trying to avoid or run away from that situation.
5) Do not waste too much time thinking on a single situation.

Good e.g: She calls for help and ties her scarf on leg to stop bleeding.
Bad e.g: He will jump out of the window and save the falling cat.

d) Self Description –

1) Write the truth, project yourself in the best real way.
2) Take help from your friends, teachers and parents. Ask their opinion about yourself.
3) Can prepare in advance.
4) Introspect, to know about your strength and weaknesses.
5) Do not copy what you read in some book or website.
6) Your only chance to communicate with psychologist and tell about you in simple words.

PHASE II

INTERVIEW – This is the most easiest phase of ssb as far as I think because for this step you need not prepare or practice anything. Interview always revolves around the candidates past, present and future. You will be questioned about your studies, hobbies, like & dislikes, friends, enemy, some social problem(not always), why army?, your views on politics.

In interview your memory, communication, honesty, reaction, way of expression, understanding, is checked.

Before going for interview drink a glass of water and take 5 deep breathes it really helps to relax you and say to yourself “I will do good” and enter.

Personal Interview - SSB

During Interview –

1) Interviewer is not a monster from fiction movie, calm down and communicate freely, who knows this might be your only chance.
2) Speak truth and only truth. No bluffing, beating around the bush.
3) Try to answer question in the sequence asked.
4) It is right to say “I don’t know” rather than telling fairy tales.
5) You are not required to know all the answers, as interviewer will not ask all the questions from you.
6) Do not try to be someone you are not.

If your interview is after GTO, then:

1) Talk about your group, team and not only how well you did in individual obstacle and command task.
2) Do not project yourself as a hero and the only hero of team, that you did everything.
3) Do not criticize anyone.
4) Appreciate and acknowledge others’ help in your team’s victory.

During my interview, I was very relaxed and throughout interacted with IO as a friend. It went very smooth. Didn’t realise when three quarters of an hour flew.

PHASE III

GROUND TASK – In this phase of ssb you are observed on ground. How good you are as a member of team, as an individual, as a commander, as a subordinate in achieving the goal. Things observed are practical application of theoretical knowledge, orator skill, physical robustness, intelligence, problem solving ability, time management.

a) Group discussion –

group planning  ssb interview

1) Follow golden rule – Speak and let other speak.
2) Add quality to discussion not quantity.
3) Pay attention to what others have to say, by nodding(not like a maniac) or maintaining eye contact.
4) Don’t disagree with other, don’t try to prove them wrong instead put your own point across.
5) Subject knowledge – very much required.
6) Don’t be in hurry to end or conclude the discussion, GTO is there to end it.

b) Lecturette –

1) Prepare the outline of your lecture in the given 2/3 minutes.
2) Be brief.
3) Utilize time completely and don’t overshoot your speech.
4) Maintain eye contact with your groupmates & not the GTO.
5) Be firm and loud enough.
6) Controlled use of hand and overall body language.

c) Group Planning Exercise(GPE) –

1) Keep the time and distance factor in mind, most of us ignore this easily.
2) Use the resources available in situation.
3) Prioritize the problems in order of importance.
4) Be reasonable in your solution.
5) Avoid red heir or take care of it in the end.
6) Follow basic rules in discussion.

d) Command Task –

1) Observe and understand the problem once for all.
2) Do not take help of subordinates.
3) Do not allow subordinate to break any rules, at all.
4) Do not give up, on average a obstacle has 2/3 solutions.
5) Call for good subordinates and not good commanders.
6) Resourcefulness of subordinate can’t be used but they have to be good in obeying order.

e) Half Group Task, Progressive Group Task and Final Group Task –

1) For god sake stop don’t run behind the Balli(stick), fatta(plank) and rassi(rope).
2) Help others in crossing.
3) Give your ideas when everyone is busy thinking.
4) Think for next obstacle if you couldn’t help in the previous one.
5) Don’t fight or snatch the helping materials. (Yes, people do that.)
6) Don’t keep on shouting like a maniac to get them to use your solution or for helping material.

f) Individual Obstacle –

1) Try to do as many as you can.
2) More than 10 obstacle will give you sure advantage.
3) Go in an orderly manner(sequence), you will not miss any.
4) Plan your order of proceeding in advance.
5) Don’t get hurt unnecessarily.
6) Don’t hesitate to jump, or leap.

Individual obstacle

I have covered mostly everything in these four stages of SSB. If you have any doubts leave a comment and if you found this helpful then do share with your friends.

507 comments on “How I cleared SSB interview and you can too! – the easy way – Part 2

  1. Sonny
    April 23, 2017

    My knees touch slightly when i join my feet together ( heels touching). Will that pose a problem in medical. They don’t cause any problem to me but I’ve heard that from many people.

    • Sonu
      April 26, 2017

      I f its minor then no.

  2. Bharat Krishna
    April 21, 2017

    I cannot touch my toes due to a small back problem. Will I be rejected

    • Sonu
      April 21, 2017

      If you have such severe back problem why do you want to put your life in danger? You might end up hurting yourself.

  3. pooja
    April 18, 2017

    is all gto tasks are same for girls as well?

  4. Nawlesh
    April 11, 2017

    There is a two letter tattoo above my waist is this allowed

    • Sonu
      April 12, 2017

      Allowed!

      • Nawlesh
        April 13, 2017

        Thank you

  5. navdeep
    April 8, 2017

    i have cleared my CDS and hve got my no. under IMA as well as OTA . Now..is it like.. that i can go either for IMA or OTA but not both??

    • Sonu
      April 9, 2017

      No you will be sent to IMA, if no vacancy then to OTA. You don’t have a choice.

  6. Ashu Monga
    March 29, 2017

    Hello Sir, i am not able to find the registration link/section on the joinindianarmy.nic.in after clearing CDS OTA. Kindly help me with the same and also which item to select in tge link for ota (men). Thank you

  7. bhargav ram
    March 22, 2017

    what is the physical standards that means weight and height

  8. Teja
    March 19, 2017

    Is there any minimum percentage criteria for IMA to appear for exam?

  9. Meera Simon
    March 17, 2017

    is flat feet a big problem?

  10. Husan
    February 17, 2017

    I’m student of m.a political science. I want to join indian army. My english is not well but now i am doing very well for improvment. Can i crack ssb. Let me suggestion.

    • Sonu
      February 28, 2017

      Yes, work hard and you can.

  11. vipin vincent
    February 17, 2017

    hello brother, i am 23 years old .my height is 168 cm , my weight is 73 kg. is it unfit?

    • Sonu
      February 28, 2017

      Weight is more, you will be given Temporary rejection in SSB medical.

  12. Pingback: How to clear “Screening Test” in SSB interview? – arpitssbguide

  13. Harshit
    January 23, 2017

    What type of obstacles will be there?. How much I have to train my body for the physical obstacles… Suggest me some tips so I can clear physical test of ssb….sir one year back I broke my leg ,it was not a fracture it was just fatigue ..now I am completely fine .if I will not tell them in the medical test about my injury will they be able to figure it out?

  14. sagar singh
    January 18, 2017

    sir my eyesight is -1 both eyes. am i elligible with medical aspects?

  15. Vivek Kaurav
    January 17, 2017

    Sir I have an steel plate in my hand
    so I will be rejected in medicals or not
    pls clear it sir

  16. hitesh yadav
    January 15, 2017

    sir, first of all thank you very much for sharing a wonderful knowledge.
    Can u tell me sir that how many months are enough to do preparation for CDS ?

    • Sonu
      January 29, 2017

      It’s not the time that matter, it’s the dedication which matters. No fixed duration.

  17. suvamswain7
    January 10, 2017

    I have got 60% in my btech am i eligible for ssb

  18. Akshay
    January 7, 2017

    Hello sir I am student of Ame in one of college but DGCA had changed the exam pattern so our college fee is also increased for training purposes and we have to complete more that 40 papers to complete this course with 75% passing marks so I don’t have hope on this. So I am doing b.sc along with this course can I join IAF after my b.sc if yes how? And the training i am taking on aircraft now is there any useful to join IAF pls suggest me sir

  19. vishal
    December 19, 2016

    sir after how many days of recommendation , the medical test begins???
    and can we change the medical dates

    • Sonu
      December 27, 2016

      After one day or sometimes depending on availability of batches, after a month also. You can’t change date.

  20. prince kumar
    December 5, 2016

    Sir, In self description test . can we tell about our good and bad quality both or not?

  21. Anand
    November 29, 2016

    Is BMI is very important in rejection. Because my BAM IS 33.I am eligible or not?

  22. onkar
    November 21, 2016

    m an average students ..not that good…but i m really interested in NDA…i gave my nda exam 2016 2 i have not cleared it …is it really tough to pass ssb?

    • Sonu
      November 24, 2016

      There is nothing is in life, until you decide that you will achieve. Have strong will with dedicated preparation, its not that hard. All the best!

  23. Sarabjit Singh
    November 16, 2016

    Hello there,
    I’m 18 year old and I’m in 12th right now. I wanna pursue my career in Army by clearing CDSE. 1 month back I broke my right collarbone but it was not displaced so it fully healed within 6 weeks. I just wanted to know regarding my case, is there any chance of getting rejected in Medical?

    • Mayank
      November 19, 2016

      Bro you can go through the medical requirements of army. I don’t think this will lead to rejection. All the best for your future endeavors.

      • Sarabjit Singh
        November 20, 2016

        That’s a relief. Thank you buddy. And all the best to you too for whatever you wanna do.

    • Sonu
      November 24, 2016

      If it wasn’t a major problem then you will not face any issue in SSB medicals, but during Academy training you might find some difficulty though its not very obvious.

Speak your mind!

Information

This entry was posted on June 18, 2014 by in Army and tagged , , , , .
Follow Sonusmac on WordPress.com

Let’s Connect!

